Enlightenment, Spottings and “SLUMFOWER”

Since the dawn of NYFW here in NYC, I have been consumed by the interchangeable energy between bloggers and the fashion community, the style of many revered, while the fashioning of NYFW etiquette, completely transversed through the digital world. Apprehensive of what events to attend this week, I divinely found my heels planted in direction to the editorial premiere of true dandies and intellects: Joshua Kissi and Travis Gumbs, the collective socially known as: Street Etiquette. On a cool, Saturday evening, the two held their opening reception for the debut of their thesis: “SLUMFLOWER” with an assisting exhibition, visual offerings from photographer Rog Walker. The event encompassed a frenetic energy of creatives from this land, in one room, enjoying, passing and building time. Although I arrived several minutes late, I managed to run into a few of my close, kindred spirits and well enough established new relationships while nurturing the old. With brothers and sisters from entities including Sir Ouigi Theodore of The Brooklyn Circus to the curators of Philadelphia’s own atelier:  House of RA’oof, endless creeds of success also adorned the room. I have only a few snaps of the night, but I could not expect more of myself, given the physical, tangible love in the room. Next time, I will bring you guys with me!

Stylist/Model/Rose Ni'Ma Ford & I

Stylist/Model/Rose Ni’Ma Ford & I

Photographer Tahir Mckenzie & I

Photographer Tahir Mckenzie & I

Photographer Jonathan Gardenhire & I

Photographer Jonathan Gardenhire & I

