Highlights: Charlotte’s Webe (Anthony J. Thomas)

Wooden, splendor. I built this piece to represent the animosity between the African-American male community and the NYPD. In order to properly address my admiration for art history and the greats that have created the platform in which I use as my playing field, I decided to use multiple muses to bring this piece to life.

The artists of the twentieth century, are revered as the most innovative, creative and influential artists of their time, influencing the world in art, film, clothing and most importantly time. Since my early study of art history, I have managed to procure research on artists who I feel speak to the culture, that is modern art. These artists are: Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, and Salvador Dali. Pretentious as I am, I include myself as a great, yes I know.

With the techniques and movements of these artists in mind, I focused on the image of the African-American police officer and channeled the energy of my own personal history with the police force and the law through, the techniques of the three artists mentioned above.

Comprised of four sections, I decided to create each “limb” separately in emotion but cohesive in concept, rendering Charlotte’s Webe, an assisting diary entry of the collection that is my work. Of the four “limbs”, I favor the Transparent Heart, which happens to be (4 of 4). The piece is a personal anecdote of my history with the police force as well as an ode to history and health.

Blessed with an arrhythmic heart, I am more than prone to heart complications, a risk that increases once under stress or intense anxiety, to this day  I am forever anxious and a bit overwhelmed when I encounter an officer, especially when eye contact is made.

“Charlotte’s Webe” is a personal ode to my culture, history and art fellows (deceased) who have cultivated a platform that I now consider my own, a pedestal where no man can remove my touch or imprint.

Matisse’s Seat: (1 of 4)
Pablo’s Attendance: (2 of 4)
Dali’s Remembrance: (3  of 4)
Photography by t.mckenzie. © Anthony J. Thomas

C.Webe

