AfricaInAmerica: “The New Curator”

I called you two weekends ago for a long conversation, thought provoking conversation. What if the bulk of this conversation consisted of a three day thesis, demoralizing the religion of the coveted “art institution” and bringing into fruition the idea of the collective, our collective. Well, we held the conversation long enough to know that we have poor communication, yes granted. But even more beautiful, is that fact that you understood our poor communication and decided to show how much there is to offering your heart to others, in the most vulnerable light possible. This weekend artists met of every craft: spoken word, painting, sculpture, dance etc. to enjoy each other’s creativity and intellect. Oh baby, love was in the room, but enough prelude right? I would love to introduce you to my interpretation of a baby I have watched grow for two months, AfricaInAmerica: Art Collective Exhibition.

We began here:

I am sure you remember “Opening Door” one of my first art shows, held in the beautiful spacious apartment that is my Bedford-Stuyvesant home. After such a beautiful response to said event, my primary mentors and I, decided we should build an event, highlighting the pulse of the Bed-Stuy art scene as well as preview our work. With a little intuition and resources, I decided this would be the official show, displaying my work and the work of six other artists. As the days progressed towards the event, I managed to gain the strength of multiple artists, brands and news organizations. Officially backed by the Tiny Cup Cafe, a warm cafe found on the tip of Bed-Stuy, owned by Daicha Perkins.

Thursday:

Brought forth the Opening Night with a complimentary tornado watch, which did not hinder guests from piling in after 7 p.m. With a live D.J, I watched as individuals of all colors visited the space, to view what was more than just art, but the true essence of hearts who still believe art can change the world. The highlight for the night was the arrival of my mother, who expressed her gratitude and satisfaction of the work her personal glory, was putting forth in the world. We listened to music, ate excellent food created by fellow artist of both the culinary/art trade Amanda Spruill and watched the cultivation of history. I ended up very Champagne friendly towards the end of the night, you can interpret that in any way you can.

Friday:

As I decided to work out the kinks discovered on the opening night, I wanted Friday to flow smoothly as possible. Friday became a day of trial and error. The removal of music allowed the venue to really serve as a gallery space, giving patrons the opportunity to succinctly converse on the work, as well as speak with the artists. Friday gave us food by the wonderful Amanda Spruill and a consistent guest intake ending the night in true “Chelsea Gallery Glory”

Saturday:

Was and will be the most warm, heartfelt day of the engagement. The day started with a brunch at 2pm, where all of the artists, guests of the last two days and family shared the beautiful space of the Tiny Cup Cafe, for Chicken and Waffles. Delicious food, jokes, stories and love were all in abundance from 2-5pm, while Carisa Bledsoe one of my mentors managed the gallery space, for ongoing guests that decided to see the work throughout the day. 7pm marked the closing reception of the exhibition, and most importantly the beginning of a beautiful friendship with multiple artists. Spoken word dominated the night, delivered by artists: Distinguish, Brooklyn and Howard Borden. Candles lit, cool weather and enthusiastic ears listened to wordsmiths convey their feelings to us. Taken a aback by it all, I sat quietly thinking: “This is really the result of  hard work.” As the night ended, we all gave our own farewells offering each other wishes of excellence and bonds of familial love, that will never be broken.

AfricaInAmerica: Art Collective Exhibition, was a learning experience, a test of determination and strength that can only be sent from my Father above. As the primary curator of the event, I watched my plan become the mission and goal of others, where the only hinderance resided in our doubt.  If you are wondering what is next, all I can tell you is to continue to type AfricaInAmerica in your local search bar. Let’s just say I have my sight on the clothing community now. MAMIE.1950

