Installation Scheme: Mary Temple’s: Witness

Two weeks ago I attended the opening of Brooklyn artist Mary Temple’s exhibition: Currency. The exhibition is an intricate political statement, consisting of drawings created by Temple everyday since the beginning of October of 2011. The detailed images are political figures both locally and internationally, whose actions or position in the news is measured by the possibility of world peace. Each image is assisted by a caption, which encompasses the information of the newspaper headline in which the image was derived. With the  sole purpose of basking in installation glory, (I was chosen to install the exhibition in its entirety), I arrived eager to seek gratification from Temple in regards to the work completed. As it was my first stab at installing an exhibition, I was incredibly pleased by the final presentation.

Greeted with a warm smile and intense gaze, Mary Temple expressed her satisfaction and even extended her email address as a sign of gratitude.With the guidance of well-known curator Claudia Calirman and contemporary artist Nyeema Morgan both instructors of my accredited institution, I am currently soaking in a pool of art influence which has definitely found its way into  my work. Below are some mobile screen shots of the night, and the beauty that is the Currency exhibition. If you live in NYC please pay the exhibition a visit, located in the President’s Gallery the coveted space of John Jay College’s President Jeremy Travis.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well wishes…

