#Influence: Monica Miller:Black Dandyism and the Styling of Black Diasporic Identity

Monica Miller’s Black Dandyism and the Styling of Black Diasporic Identity: 

Is a deeply notated account of the relationship between the Africa Diaspora and fashion. What constitutes the black man’s need for great dress and an identity of refined proportions. Although I have yet to finish the book, I am enamored by Miller’s interest in the fashioning of the African diasporic community. I personally met Miller during a lecture at the prestigious Fashion Institute of Technology, and I must say it was an incredible experience as she detailed the framework of this work as well as associating images. During the lecture I asked if Dandyism was more of an object of materialism or mentality?  She delightfully answered “Both”, thus began my study into Dandyism and its current state in my neighborhood of Bedford-Stuyvesant. Miller’s book has influenced Mamie’s development, as I aim to produce menswear for the “greater good of dress for the African American male community”.

Thank you Monica.

Well wishes…

